Christian Cuss Words

 

 I got to thinking about a conversation I used to have with a friend quite often. We would talk about how Christians replace cuss words with tamer versions that basically mean the same thing. What’s more important?  The fact that someone says a cuss word or substitutes a word for the cuss word but still attaches the same meaning?  Just as in everything else, Christians have made up an entire vocabulary of alternatives to cusswords to go with the subculture we have created.  Crap.  Friggin.  Frickin.  Frick.  Shoo-shoo.  Heck.  I could go on and on and on… 

So what is more important?  That one says an explicative or a safe, church friendly version but with the same meaning?  This is yet another reason why people have a hard time connecting with the church.  We aren’t real.  Do I believe Jesus said swear words?  Absolutely not.  But I also know He wouldn’t try and substitute some cheesy, made up word to express Himself.   

Paul said in Ephesians 4:29 that we should let no unwholesome talk come from our mouths.  The way I see that apply to my life is that I shouldn’t say any words that are not uplifting. Look, I have played the “polished Christian game” where I watch what I say and how I act and all that stuff a good little Christian should be.  But I was just a white-washed tomb.  To be honest, I’m tired of living that way.  In no way am I advocating taking up cussing lessons from a sailor, but what I am saying is that maybe, just maybe, we should put down our Christian cuss words and either 1) say the real thing if that’s what we mean in our hearts, or 2) not say anything and check what’s wrong down inside us.

A quick real life story to illustrate. I’ve noticed a disturbing tendency in myself of recent weeks that when I get hurt or frustrated about something, I have either let a wordy dirty slip out of my mouth or I stop it short. It has caused me to wonder what’s going on inside my heart that this trend is getting worse. Not because of what I’m saying, but rather why. It’s the condition of my heart that concerns me. So I’m starting to pray and ask God to help me see why this issue is growing. 

What do you think?

Leave a Reply

