My son’s first blog post

My 12 year old Stephen recently entered an essay in a contest at his middle school. He wrote about what it means to not let failure hold you back, but to learn from it and succeed. I decided to share it below because I think we all can learn something from it. And I’m really really proud too! 🙂

Has there ever been a time in your time in your life where you tried out for something but you were told no? That happened to me when I was in third grade. I tried out for the track team and I only made alternate. I almost decided not to go because I wanted to run so badly. Eventually I overcame that, and went to the track meet. Now I am in sixth grade and I have learned a lot from that. Recently I read this quote, “Finish each day and be done with it. You have done what you could; some blunders and absurdities have crept in; forget them as soon as you can. Tomorrow is a new day; you shall begin it serenely and with too high a spirit to be encumbered with your old nonsense.” This means to me that I should never stop working as hard as I can, and never give up. The thing that keeps me motivated to work hard is to be the best out there, and let nothing stand in my way from achieving my goal.

The person that inspires me to work hard is Michael Jordan. He has a similar story to mine. When Jordan was in high school he tried out for the varsity basketball team, and did not the make team. He is one of the greatest basketball players in the history of the sport. He achieved this goal by setting different goals for himself. A few of his goals were to approach everything step by step and set short term goals. The biggest goal he set for himself was to play in the NBA. He achieved this by playing really hard and college and proving to everybody that he was the best. My story is similar because I made the track team the next year.

Just because you don’t achieve the goal you set the first time doesn’t mean you can’t try harder the next time. You know what they say “If at first you don’t succeed try and try again.”

Always try as hard as you can, and never let anything stand in the way of you achieving your goal.

Stephen Bradford

One thought on “My son’s first blog post

Leave a Reply

