I am a blank page

Surrender seems to be a common theme that God is working in the lives of people at my church, including my own. Today, I started journaling about how I want to stop trying to write my own story and that I’m putting my pen down. As I continued to write, a song came out. Thought I’d share it, though it’s quite rough at the moment:

I’m a blank page, I’ve put the pen down
And I am waiting for your brilliance to come

I don’t want to write my story because when I do, it ends in tragedy
I don’t want to tell my tale because when I try, it always fails

The words I use, I’ve used a thousand times
It’s time for something new, something to come from You
O God, take the pen from my tired hand
Write the masterpiece that You have planned for me

I don’t want to write my story because when I do, it ends in tragedy
I don’t want to tell my tale because when I try, it always fails

Take Your time, craft at Your own pace
Let the story you write put a smile on Your face
A story that will shine and bring glory to Your name
And may that story I become bring You fame

I want You to write my story because when you do, it will reflect your glory
I want You to tell my tale because when you do, it will never fail

Not the most eloquent writing I’ve ever put together, but it’s raw and my earnest desire. I want to stop trying to control my life and allow God to craft the story as He sees fit.

One thought on “I am a blank page

Leave a Reply

