Personal Greatness

As human beings, our greatness lies not so much in being able to remake the world…as in being able to remake ourselves. –Mohandas K. Gandhi

I spent many years and much effort trying to make the world a better place. I believed that if I could plan a great church service, sing a powerful song, say the right things, that the world would change one life at a time. I thought if I could do those things, I would leave my mark on this world. How foolish I was.

I have since realized that, as Gandhi so eloquently said, my legacy is not about what I do or who I touch but about who I am and how I live. If I don’t have character and integrity, compassion and kindness, humility and a servant heart, what is my life?

Today, I feel free. I feel free because I realize that God is in control and I am not. My influence on this world comes through the influence He grants me, not by my efforts or intelligence. The realization that all He wants from me is honesty with who and where I am in relation to Him brings immense joy. I have a little bit of an idea what it must have been like to live during the westward expansion in the 1800s. Free reign. There is still work to be done and bills to pay, children to raise and friends to love. But I have an overarching peace that God is doing it….especially as I stay out of the way.

Leave a Reply

