Pleasing God.

20110720-093033.jpg

My mind’s been swirling today with thoughts of what it means to please God. Almost immediately I start to think about what I can do that will cause Him to be more pleased with me. The flip side to that coin is then examined, which is what I should stop doing. But today, as I pondered this, another thought entered the equation: May what I say and what I dwell upon be pleasing to Him.

Proverbs 18:4 says that “the words of a man’s mouth are deep waters.” Think about that verse for a moment. It means that what you and I say, every word, gives a glimpse of what is in our hearts. Every opinion, careless word, carefully thought out idea, angry expression…all things that come out of our mouths reveal the depths of who we are. It’s the outflow of what is inside.

Which leads me to the inflow we allow to the inner parts of our souls. The things we think upon over and over is what we are feeding our hearts with. When I was going through my divorce, all I could focus on was how I had been wronged. That poured angst and confusion into my heart and produced bitterness and anger with a dash of hopelessness. It became so bad, I didn’t even realize it was present until someone pointed it out to me. Where I thought I was over everything and had begun moving on with my life, this person helped me see that I was indeed not over what had been done. That was the beginning of freedom. I made the commitment to change my thoughts, and to discontinue talking about the past. What a difference that made! Changing the inflow to my heart began to produce a new outflow from my mouth. It was incredibly freeing!

Romans 12:2 instructs us to not conform to the ways of the world, but be transformed by the renewing of our minds. It truly is the battleground we overlook the most, yet it is absolutely the most vital if we want to change all the down stream parts, and therefore please the Lord.

May the words of my mouth and the meditations of my heart be pleasing to the Lord.

One thought on “Pleasing God.

Leave a Reply

