The bitter and the sweet

I try my hardest to stay on a daily reading by an old English pastor named Oswald Chambers. The reading is a collection of quotes from various lectures Chambers gave in the early 1900s and is called My Utmost for His Highest. This evening I read today’s entry and this quote struck me:

“We have the idea that God is going to do some exceptional thing— that He is preparing and equipping us for some extraordinary work in the future. But as we grow in His grace we find that God is glorifying Himself here and now, at this very moment. If we have God’s assurance behind us, the most amazing strength becomes ours, and we learn to sing, glorifying Him even in the ordinary days and ways of life.”

Everyone can, or will one day, relate to the idea that, in our youth, we dream of being a part of something magnificent, to conquer a quest so great and marvelous that we will be a part of changing the world forever. Boy, I could fill pages with lists and details of all of the “sparks of genius” I have had that would enable me to impact the world for all of time. I was convinced that God Almighty was prepping me for something fantastic. But I was misguided by my own thoughts and dreams and visions of grandeur.

As I have gotten older and gained more life experience (which I have so much more to gain!), I have realized that God’s idea of important and impacting is quite different than mine. Never would I have predicted a divorce and tearing of my family could bring about a new, more raw piece of me which has enabled me to view people with more compassion and understanding. I received a lot of feedback from my last post, “Divorced people are people too” and I was surprised a bit to be honest. I could speculate as to why, but the ultimate reason is because God is taking what was broken and fallen and is making it into a beautiful and effective tool, useful for His purposes.

I may never be world renowned or a piece of history, but at least I have tasted the bitter and the sweet of life enough so I can comprehend a small piece of God’s greater plan. We are all here for each other, to encourage and to love, to lift up and to celebrate with, to live and to learn together.

Leave a Reply

