Divorced people are people too

There was a time when I equated being divorced with being relationally ill or inept. It made sense to me that if you cannot make a marriage work, there is something wrong with you. I was never further from the truth.

What my judgmental, condemning attitude failed to understand is that divorced people are usually just as normal as any other person that I encounter from day to day. Many are really good people: smart, successful, talented, wonderful parents, and, yes, quite good at relationships. Why divorce happens is a case by case issue; but larger than that I have seen that, through my own divorce and the divorces of many friends, we are all people, created by God, and we live in a fallen, sinful world, full of selfish people….and that means me and you.

I am also learning to embrace every bit of who I am, and who others are, because it makes life so much more beautiful when we can share our true selves, no matter how many cracks, bruises, or blemishes we may have.

One thought on “Divorced people are people too

Leave a Reply

