Accepting what you can’t change

Accepting what you can’t change is hard. Really hard. It’s accepting that things that happened in the the past cannot be manipulated in anyway to change the present. What’s done is done.

Though no one can go back and make a brand new start, anyone can start from now and make a brand new ending. ~Anonymous

Who controls the past controls the future. Who controls the present controls the past. ~George Orwell

Why is it that our memory is good enough to retain the least triviality that happens to us, and yet not good enough to recollect how often we have told it to the same person? ~Francois de La Rouchefoucauld

But one thing I do: forgetting what lies behind and straining forward to what lies ahead, 14I press on toward the goal for the prize of the upward call of God in Christ Jesus. ~Phillippians 3:13-14

That last quote hits me between the eyes. How true it is that I remember the smallest detail of things that have happened to me, but have forgotten how many I have told about it and the many times I have obsessed about it in my own mine. It’s time to start a new day, to let the sun set on the past and move forward, to learn to control the past so, as Orwell says above, I can control my future.

Leave a Reply

