In repair

Yesterday I had the opportunity to play with the band at Knox Life Church in downtown Knoxville.  The musicians in this church are off the chain!  I had a blast and was BY FAR the most undeserving to be up there.  Davis Mitchell, the worship pastor, does a phenom job leading people to the presence of the Lord.  In my 15 years of leading worship, I’ve come to understand the role of worship leaders as that of meeting the people where they are (fresh off the street) and leading them into God’s presence.  A crucial part of that is the worship leader himself spending time in the presence of God on his own.  You can’t lead people somewhere you’ve never been.  Not effectively anyway.  Davis leads like he’s been in the presence of the Lord.

Anywho, we did a song by John Mayer yesterday titled “In Repair”.  Probably the one song I connected with the most all day.  Ever feel like you’re an absolute mess?  Like your whole life is a “clean up on aisle 4” kind of mess?  God has graciously (I say that with a mix of sincerity and sarcasm) shown me who I am.  The real me.  And it’s not pretty.  I totally relate to the apostle Paul in Romans 7…I do what I don’t want to do and I don’t do what I do want to do.

BUT, He’s also shown me that He’s fixing me….putting me back the way I should be.  Like a rubix cube.  I am in repair…

Verse     Too many shadows in my room, too many hours in this midnight
Too many corners in my mind, so much to do to set my heart right

Chorus  Oh it’s taking so long i could be wrong, i could be ready, oh but if i take my heart’s advice
I should assume it’s still unsteady, I am in repair, i am in repair

Verse     Stood on the corner for a while to wait for the wind to blow down on me
Hoping it takes with it my old ways and brings some brand new luck upon me

Bridge   And now i’m walking in a park all of the birds they dance below me
Maybe when things turn green again it will be good to say you know me

3 thoughts on “In repair

  1. We are indeed all works in progress. If not, what’s the point of getting up every day? But perceiving oneself clearly is a gift that many people don’t receive or aren’t aware of. It’s being given a chance to write a new song.

  2. Kevin, I can totally relate to this as I am also in this state of mind right now. But as I read the lyrics, I just wanted to say to you, I have always been glad to know you- just as you are. I wish that you could look at yourself through God’s eyes because to just look at yourself from my eyes and know the impact you’ve made (as the worship leader, reading blogs, etc.), you are just fine the way that you are. While it is perfectly understandable (especially in a state of brokenness) to strive for more- don’t forget who you already are. I hope this makes sense!

Leave a Reply

