Holy Week

Today begins Holy Week, the week leading up to the observation and celebration of Jesus death and resurrection.  This is a highly important week for Christians as it is the hinge point of our entire faith.  Without the events of this week, we would be no where.

It is a very emotional week for me at times as I think upon what actually took place.  That Jesus would take my place in punishment and death due to my sin so that I could instead live with Him, for Him, and through Him leaves me in awe.

At church we have been studying Hebrews.  Last week, the preacher, Greg, taught on Hebrews 4:13-16 and expounded upon the concept that Jesus is our High Priest.  The way he explained verse 13, though, has rocked me at my core.

And no creature is hidden from his sight, but all are naked and exposed to the eyes of him to whom we must give account.  (Heb 4:13, ESV)

The greek word for “exposed” is best described using a word picture.  Imagine an animal on the altar with its head pulled back so that its throat is exposed and a knife is held to it.  A helpless animal about to be slaughtered as a sacrifice to God.  You and I are that animal.  Helpless.  But Jesus is the one holding the knife and He sympathizes with us (verse 15).  That was the picture Greg left the church with last week.

Today he said something that brought me to absolute tears.  As Jesus is holding that knife to our throats, ready to offer the sacrifice to God, He turns it upon Himself, taking our place.

That is what this week is about.  I fear that I take it for granted a lot.  Do you?  Let us join together this week and encourage each other to fix our eyes on Jesus.  I am going to post throughout the week with thoughts and I think it would be quite amazing to see dialogue occur through the comments field or on facebook or on twitter about Holy Week and what God is showing each and everyone of us.  Will join me?

Leave a Reply

