Something to Say

Have you ever gone through a period in life when you can relate with David’s words in Psalm 23?  “I walk through the valley of the shadow of death.”  Never in my life could I relate to those words until now.  Honestly, life kinda sucks right now.  I feel like the small band of warriors in Lord of the Rings at the very end when they are surrounded by evil on all sides.  But, the ground hasn’t opened yet to swallow my enemies.  No, it’s just the despair and wonder when the overwhelming army will complete its conquest.

Here’s what I know, though.  I know that the ground will open up, that my God will swallow my enemy.  He will be David vs. Goliath as I cower in fear in the distance like the people of Israel did.  I know this will happen.

It’s just that right now, as the enemy is swelling, God is silent.

I came across a song today off Starfield’s new album, The Saving One, that speaks exactly what my heart wants to say.  Soak in these words.  If you’re going through a hard time, I hope these words resonate with you like they have with me…

I’ve got something to say
It’s been one of those days
When I’m finding it hard to believe in You

I’ve got something to say
I’ve forgotten how to pray
And I’m finding it hard to believe the truth

I’ve got something to say
Right now it feels like You are slipping away
Like I am drowning in a crisis of faith
Like I’m alone

I’ve got something to say
What was black and white is grey
And I’m finding it hard to believe in You

And faith might mean there won’t be answers
And hope might mean enduring through the night
But help me not forget in darkness
The things that I believed in light

I’ve got something to say
Right now it feels like You are slipping away
Like I am drowning in a crisis of faith
Like I was found, but now I’m lost in the fray

Despite the despair, the fear, the chaos raging inside me, I know God is there. Sure, I can’t feel Him, but what would my faith be if it were based on feelings alone, right?  Empty, that’s what it would be.  I know God hears me and I know that He is allowing me to feel His silence, to feel the despair so that He can bring me into a deeper communion with Him.

Psalm 23:4 says “even though I walk through the valley of the shadow of death, I will fear no evil, for you are with me, your rod and your staff, they comfort me.”

Psalm 66:20 says “blessed be God, because he has not rejected my prayer or removed his steadfast love from me!”

Thank You, Father, for being faithful to me, for loving me regardless of what I have done.  Your steadfast love carries me.  Amen.

One thought on “Something to Say

  1. Thanks for the blog tonight. It really hit home with me. Stay strong and wait for greatness to appear from the mist.

Leave a Reply

