Healing from Divorce

I read recently that divorce brings about a tearing of  heart and spirit that literally rips a person in two.  Marriage, as scripture says, joins two individuals into one, intertwining their lives, personalities, and identities.  So, when divorce occurs, the marriage bond is torn violently apart, leaving the husband and wife as severely damaged individuals.

I have no experienced anything more traumatic and devastating in my life.  Not only have I had to deal with the pain and sorrow of the loss and failure of the marriage, I have also dealt with the loss of who I am as a person.  Any confidence and security I once had is now in question.  I have felt as though I have lost who I am.  And that is where the beauty in the brokenness is revealed.

Psalm 34:18 says that “the Lord is near to the brokenhearted and saves the crushed in spirit.”  What a comfort!  As I survey the Bible, I realize that God specializes in working with broken lives and turning them into wonderful works of art.

So, the hope I cling to is this: He heals the brokenhearted and binds up their wounds (Psalm 147:3).  He has been healing me and will continue to do so.  I often get impatient and want the healing to hurry up, but just like a deep flesh wound that goes through an extensive mending process, so my heart’s deep wounds must mend as well.  I know that He is faithful and His steadfast love will never fail me.  It is because of that hope that I can rest assured knowing that one day, I will be completely healed.

If you are going through the pain of a broken heart and crushed spirit, take heart and know that God is right beside you, even though it may not feel like it.  Cling to the truth of Psalm 34:18.  As impossible as it seems, press into Jesus with all you have.  He will heal your heart.  And that is something worth hoping for!

3 thoughts on “Healing from Divorce

Leave a Reply

