Daughters

There are a few songs I have been listening to a ton lately.  One of such songs is Daughters by John Mayer.  Such a great tune!  I have been hit by the profoundness of this song.  The chorus, especially, is rich with truth.

Fathers be good to your daughters

Daughters will love like you do

Girls become lovers that turn into mothers

So mothers be good to your daughters, too

This has been bouncing around in my head for days as I think of my relationship with my own daughter.  How will she love?  What reflection of me will there be?  A good, loving, and godly one is what I hope for.

We parents have such power over the future because it is us who shape our boys and girls for that future more than anyone else.  I found the following from a church bulletin and I believe it does more justice to what I’m trying to say than my own words.  It speaks directly to fathers…

If children have violent fathers with uncontrollable tempers, they will more than likely display the same.

If children have fathers who are absent physically or psychologically most of the time, they will feel unloved, unwanted, insecure.

If children have fathers who demonstrate strength, love, affection, and even tears, they will grow up with healthier emotional development.

If children have abusive fathers, they may grow up hating their fathers, their self-esteem may suffer, and they may mourn throughout their lives for that “loving” father they never had.

If children grow up under permissive fathers, they will likely grow up to disrespect rules and regulations of all kinds, e.g., the law, government, church, school, or society.

May we take the time to rethink how we are impacting our children now, rather than wake up one day and realize it is too late.

Leave a Reply

