One year out of ministry

One year ago, I left my career in the ministry to move to Knoxville and re-enter the workforce.  It has been a big adjustment.

First of all, I went from a creative role as a worship pastor at a church to a technical role as a project analyst at an engineering and construction site.  Very challenging shift.

Secondly, working for a church is much different then working in a regular job.  Some things I had to reacquaint myself with…

  • Cusswords. Don’t have a problem with it, it’s just not something you hear in a church environment…or at least one in the south!
  • 5:00 AM. My clock didn’t used to have this time on it.  It usually didn’t start before 6:30 or 7:00.
  • Meetings don’t end in prayer. For some reason, this has been the biggest adjustment of them all.
  • Security.  All I can say about that is “If I told you, I’d have to kill you.”  HA!  Seriously, the place I work is quite secure.  Think “national security”.

It has been very refreshing for me to be back at a “normal” job.  The ministry is tough.  Demands are quite high and you have to live in a glass house.  It sucks.  I like the fact that when I go to work, I don’t have to pretend to have all my junk in place.  (I could use another word there, but I’ll choose to keep this censored. 😀 )

So the change has taken some getting used to, but I like it.  There are some really good people that I have gotten to know.  And I have an opportunity to live out the gospel before many people who do not have a relationship with Jesus every single day.  Can’t get that in a church!

Leave a Reply

