Mantra (part v).

Today I’m finishing up a series on my mantra.  It has focused on four “re-” words that I am integrating into my life to spur growth.  Resolve is about determining to do or be something specific; setting my mind toward a goal or a purpose  Renew is the consistent effort given to feeding my mind and soul through reading, study, and prayer.  Relive is the daily and weekly process that assesses how I lived during that period of time and then taking corrective action if necessary.

Closing out the mantra is probably my favorite.  To rethink is to mentally create vision for my life.  It is also looking at established vision and assessing if I have strayed from that vision and how I get back on track if I have.

Rethink asks tough questions and requires time to answer them.  Who I want to be?  How do I become that from who I am now?  Where do I want to go?  How do I get there from where I am now?  What do I want to be doing?  How do I get to do that by what I’m doing now?

I have a value in life to experience things regularly that I have not experienced before.  These could range from getting up the nerve to try wine for the first time (which is a humorous story for another day) to one day traveling to England, which is something I have wanted to do since I was a teenager.

One realm this greatly applies in is career path.  I have discovered a love and talent for writing over the past few years.  The more I write, the more I want to write.  So, one day it would thrill me to write for a living in some capacity.  Don’t know what that would be, but I’m beginning to look at how to get there from where I am now.  One obvious step is to go back to school…so I’m making plans to do so.

Rethink equals personal vision.  The Bible speaks on vision in Proverbs 29:18 saying that “where there is no vision the people perish.”  We have two ways to view life.  Go where the wind blows us, or chart a course and set sail.  I have come to realize 33 years of life have passed by extremely quick and I see how much of it I have wasted.  I want to enjoy life while pursuing something bigger.  And that is the value of rethink.

One thought on “Mantra (part v).

Leave a Reply

