Personality.

Self-improvement and personal growth are huge values of mine.  I am constantly reading books or blogs searching for new ways to learn and be stretched.  It is incredibly hard for me to read fiction largely impart to the fact that I tend to desire “information download” as opposed to anything else.

Which has led me to fun discovery…my personality type.  Why is this good?  Because I have already benefited by being aware of the strengths, weaknesses and quirks of my personality.  I am an INFP, which stands for Introverted iNtuitive Feeling Perceiving.  It’s a fancy way of saying that I’m introverted in feelings, but extraverted in how I process the world.  One label I saw was “The Idealist,” which I think is pretty cool.

Some of the strengths and weakness of an INFP are:

Strengths

  • Warmly concerned & caring towards others
  • Sensitive & perceptive about what others are feeling
  • Loyal & committed
  • Deep capacity for love & caring
  • Strive for “win-win” situations
  • Flexible & diverse

Weaknesses

  • May tend to be shy & reserved
  • Extreme dislike of conflict
  • Strong need to receive praise & positive affirmation
  • Tend to be reserved about expressing their feelings
  • Tendency to blame themselves for problems, and hold everything on their own shoulders

Now, this is obviously not a one-size fits all list, and it is a bit generalized.  However, I do see many of these qualities in myself.

There are 16 defined personality types.  Whether it’s to understand ourselves better or those around us, this can be an invaluable resource to assist in personal, relational, and professional growth.  I encourage you to take the time and learn more about yourself.  The results may propel you to a whole new level of life.

3 thoughts on “Personality.

  1. Hi kevin.

    It’s great you discovered your type there is a vast see of self-discovery ahead of you. I am also an INFP.

    The next step is to go deeper and study the functions behind the letters. In your case, the order of the functions and their orientation is as follows : Fi, Ne, Si, Te …

    Good luck

Leave a Reply

