Mantra (part iv).

Remember the movie Groundhog Day with Bill Murray?  The one about a weather man who relives the worst day of his life over and over and over again.  Every night he’d go to sleep hoping for a new day, and every morning he would awaken to discover it was the exact same day as before.  How miserable.  Did you imagine for a moment what it would be like if that happened to you?

Though reliving the same day over and over again is extreme, I would propose there are huge benefits we can reap from reflecting on the events of each day from an objective state of mind.  Think through how you interacted with the store clerk, or the quality of work you put into that report at the office or school, or the attitude you had while you got the kids ready for school.  What observations do you make?  What lessons can be learned?  And how can the shortcomings of the day be corrected, if they can?

It is a mental discipline to relive each day.  There may be events you aren’t proud of or moments too painful to bear.  But in thinking towards the big picture of life, you can only grow by knowing where growth is needed.

I am trying to spend about five minutes at the end of each day to reflect.  Did I honor God in my words and actions?  Did I love others with compassion and respect?  How can I correct the things I messed up?  It makes a big difference…I think I even sleep better as I feel like some resolution has been inserted into it all.

One thought on “Mantra (part iv).

Leave a Reply

