Christian Cuss Words

I read this post the other day by Anne Jackson over at Flowerdust and it got my mind going on a conversation I used to have with a friend quite often.

What’s more important?  The fact that someone says a cuss word or substitutes a word for the cuss word but still attaches the same meaning?  Just as in everything else, Christians have made up an entire vocabulary of alternatives to cusswords to go with the subculture we have created.  Crap.  Friggin.  Frickin.  Frick.  Shoo-shoo.  Heck.  I could go on and on and on…

So what is more important?  That one says an explicative or a safe, church friendly version but with the same meaning?  This is yet another reason why people can’t stand the church.  We aren’t real.  Do I believe Jesus said swear words?  Absolutely not.  But I also know He wouldn’t try and substitute some cheesy, made up word to express Himself.   Paul said in Ephesians 4:29 that we should let no unwholesome talk come from our mouths.  The way I see that apply to my life is that I shouldn’t say any words that are not uplifting.

Look, I have played the “polished Christian game” where I watch what I say and how I act and all that stuff a good little Christian should be.  But I was just a white-washed tomb.  To be honest, I’m tired of living that way.  In no way am I advocating taking up cussing lessons from a sailor, but what I am saying is that maybe, just maybe, we should put down our Christian cuss words and either 1) say the real thing if that’s what we mean in our hearts, or 2) not say anything.

What do you think?

7 thoughts on “Christian Cuss Words

  1. I agree. I vote for option #2 — don’t say anything. James 1:19 — “Everyone should be quick to listen, slow to speak, and slow to become angry.” The old advice that if you can’t say something nice, don’t say anything at all is mostly true, mostly because saying the truth is not always nice, look at how Jesus treated the Pharisees. But our goal should always be to build others up. If what we want to say doesn’t meet that standard, the proper response is to remain quiet, don’t say anything, and ask God to help us respond in true love, peace, and strength to the type of situation that was upsetting us.

    A great thing to consider!

  2. I completely agree with you. As a Jr. High and High school kid I used profanity at school to fit in and sound cool like the other kids, but would hide it in front of my parents.
    As I have gotten older I matured and as a follower of Jesus I think your right on. We are also told to let no unwholesome talk come out of our mouths, only that that is for building up others (paraphrased) I really try and live my life this way now. I don’t care for profanity and it really does offend me. I hear it all the time around me and it bugs me. Especially in the workforce. People drop f-bombs right and left like it’s no big deal.
    I have always told my wife and kids that if you need to talk like that then you have a very limited vocabulary and maybe you should spend more time reading and being creative with the words you say.

  3. Frick yeah! I kid I kid

    Being authentic and transparent even in our speech is, well, authentic. Take the good with the bad and don’t apologize for being flawed.

  4. I believe that when you have truly been born again neither versions of these cuss words come to your lips. Before I came to the knowledge of Jesus Christ I had a very foul mouth. As I grew in Christ as a true Christian I realized one day that the words never came to mind or mouth. I didn’t even have to try to stop cussing because it automatically changed. This is the power of Jesus Christ. The garbage will stop.

Leave a Reply

