Beast.

There is a beast inside that is a monster unlike anything one has known or seen.  It resides in the inner chambers of my being.  Vile and evil, it lives for one purpose, and one purpose only: to satisfy its hunger.

Hunger for what?

Anything that will satisfy.  Power.  Lust.  Money.  Fame.  Self-preservation.  Prestige.  Comfort.  Security.  It seeks to take control, driving me to do what I do not want to do and not to do what I want to do.

The beast has a common name which is the flesh, but I prefer to call it what it is.  A  monster.  A villain.  A beast.  I have tried to tame it, but to no avail.  When a beast is untrainable, one might kill it.  But I have failed at all efforts to do so.  All have.  All do.  All will forever fail to but the beast to death.

But there is One who can.  Only One.  He is not a tamer, though, so do not come looking for Him to subdue the beast and train it to obey.  No…He seeks more.  Death.

There is only one thing that can kill the beast, and that is the Cross.  The Cross is wonderfully complex.  It is the avenue to forgiveness, to salvation, and to the heart of God.  Here, it is a weapon.  A weapon to be used to kill the beast.

If anyone would come after me, let him deny himself and take up his cross daily and follow me.  (Luke 9:23)

One thought on “Beast.

Leave a Reply

